Intermediate/Mixed group

The Intermediate/mixed ability group is suitable for all runners that enjoy getting out on the redways of Milton Keynes to do their training.

Sessions are aimed at runners that can cover 10k in around 36-45 minutes, although we regroup regularly so nobody is left behind or gets too far ahead.  Typical interval sessions include around 24-28 minutes of running at ‘hard pace’ (typically around 5k pace), with the rest of the time made up of warm-up, warm-down and recovery running (normally covering 8 miles).

Sessions start at 6.15pm from different locations around Milton Keynes. Check the MMKAC Road Runners facebook page for updates.

Please read the road runner Covid rules that must be adhered to to run with the group:

Road runner Covid running rules

Here is a copy of the latest Covid running risk assessment:

Road runner Covid Risk Assessment

Date Session
Tues 14/12/2021 Road runner Keyhole Kanter. From 6.30pm
Thurs 16/12/2021 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 24mins
Tues 21/12/2021 6.15pm Memorial Hall, Great Linford. Xmas lights run
Thurs 23/12/2021 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 25mins
Tues 28/12/2021 No formal session
Thurs 30/12/2021 No formal session
Tues 4/1/2022 6.15pm Stantonbury. Joint fartlek session
Thurs 6/1/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 27 mins
Tues 11/1/2022 Road runner Keyhole Kanter. From 6.30pm
Thurs 13/1/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 28mins
Sat 15th Jan Chiltern X/c Campbell Park
Tues 18/1/2022 2 sets of 3mins (2min recov), 2mins (1 min recov), 1min (1min recov), 1min (1min recov), 2mins (1 min recov) , 3mins – 3 min recov.
Thurs 20/1/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 29 mins
Tues 25/1/2022 5 x 5mins with 3min recovery
Thurs 27/1/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre, Loughton. Hill session. 30mins
Tues 1/2/2022 6.15pm Stantonbury. Joint fartlek session
Thurs 3/2/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre. Mile reps*4
Tues 8/2/2022 Road runner Keyhole Kanter. From 6.30pm
Thurs 10/2/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre. Mile reps*5
Tues 15/2/2022 12 x 2min efforts (1 min recovery)
Thurs 17/2/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre. Mile reps*6
Sat 19th Feb Chiltern X/C Shuttleworth College
Tues 22/2/2022 8x3mins (2 min recov).
Thurs 24/2/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre. Mile reps*7
Tues 1/3/2022 6.15pm Stantonbury. Joint fartlek session
Thurs 3/3/2022 6.15pm National Badminton Centre. Mile reps*7
Tues 8/3/2022 Road runner Keyhole Kanter. From 6.30pm
Thurs 10/3/2022 Easy run
Sun 13/3/2022 MK Festival of running
Tues 15/3/2022 Post race easy reps: 3 min out and backs
Thurs 17/3/2022 Rep session
Tues 22/3/2022 5*3mins (2 min recovery), then 4*2min (1 min recovery), then 4*1min (1 min recovery)
Thurs 24/3/2022 Rep session
Tues 29/3/2022 2 x (6H,2R,3H,1R,2H,1R,1H); 3R between sets
Thurs 31/3/2022 Rep session

Groups are normally led by Andrew (andrew.wasdell@btopenworld.com) and Diane (candd.baldwin@btinternet.com)